Stop Looking for Happiness

GSTS

“Stop looking for happiness; it’s with you the whole time.” Which wise man said that? Well, it was written on a fortune cookie. Besides the lucky numbers, the fortune cookies do offer some real wisdom…at times anyway. It wasn’t really anything new to me when I read it. I had realized it long before reading it on a fortune cookie, but realizing it doesn’t rid me of the unnecessary frustration and dissatisfaction. The words written down here will also be a reminder for myself when I’m stuck in the pigeonhole of unhappiness.

When I felt especially unhappy was after I got my MBA, starting a new career and a new life. I felt I lost the goal in my life. I tried to chase after new things to accomplish, hoping new accomplishments would bring me happiness. The whole time I was chasing, I never stopped to really appreciate the life I had and the success that I had accomplished by that point in my life. What I cherished was the things I could never get and the things I had already lost. I can’t say I’ve completely changed, but at least I’ve realized it by now, so I can work on it.

Life is fine the way it is. But we can’t accept that. We need to make it better without realizing how it is is good enough. I’ve realized that the things I used to want wouldn’t necessarily make me happier. Living in a big house wouldn’t. Driving a luxury car wouldn’t. Owning expensive jewelry wouldn’t. The pleasant feeling at the moment of taking possession of those things doesn’t last long. I am already happy with the life the way it is. This is not an empty affirmation. This is how I truly feel. Don’t try to change things or try to “make things better”. Why not just enjoy them the way they are? Be receptive, and you’ll feel happier.