Please help: i'm doubting the path i've chosen

John

Hello everybody!

I'm new to this forum, but i'm going through a really difficult phase and i need some advice/to hear some opinions that aren't from people close to me (as i find it hard to know if they're being honest or just telling me what they think i want to hear).

I'm a 26 yo guy from Denmark, i'm studying to become an engineer, i've got around 3 years left until i'm done (still a year to go on my bachelors degree).

I'm also a musician and i've been playing music for around 15 years, and i've got a real passion for traveling - and these two things are the main reason that i'm now doubting the path that i've chosen.

These doubts started crawling into my head around 1 week ago. I had just returned home from one of the biggest adventures and experiences in my life - touring around in Europe with a famous band, playing a concert every night for 3 weeks and living on the road in a bus. The real "tour/musicians"-life that i've been dreaming about since i first started playing. I loved every second of it; even though i'm not a core member of the band i was touring with (i substituted for another guy) everything just felt magical; from playing in front of thousands of people to meeting some of my idols and getting to play on the same stage as them every night.
The conditions were often terrible for us - we were hauling tons of gear each day, we had no catering so we just ate whatever we could get our hands on, we didn't earn any money at all etc. - but it still felt like one of the most awesome things i've done my entire life. Not only do i get to play music every night, but i also get to travel and see new places every day.