I would appreciate an advice (longer read)

Ivana

Hello everyone!
This is my first time on a personal development forum, which means I am extremely stuck and really need help. I am currently 35 years old and extremely lonely. It wasn't like this all the time, despite the horrors of bullying in high-school I always had friends and my college years were quite nice. However, life circumstances were such that now all my friends I regarded as really close moved to other countries and it is hard to keep a strong bond with them because life just gets in the way - when I feel like I need to talk with my friend I cannot just pick up the phone and ask her to go and have a coffee with me after work. Now this is the part where my low self-esteem gets into play. I am a very private person and it is really hard for me to open up. I seem cold and distant to people and all my friends actually became my friends because we were "forced" to hang out on a daily basis (college, sports) and they got to know me and realised that I am not how I seem at first. As a kid I was extremely shy and fearful of social interactions, didn't know how to behave and I until this day haven't resolved those issues completely.