Are you an apple polisher?

smile4u

I am not good at apple-polishing but i find one of my coworkers is. He is such an apple polisher and it seems our boss likes him a lot. But at the same time i can see he is very tricky which is not known by my boss. To be honest, i dislike this kind of persons, but they can be popular in the company? Are you the one?

I do think you mean bootlicker - which means he curries favour with his superior.
I don't really like these sort of people who climb high based only by bootlicking, but having a good relationship with your superior is undoubtedly crucial for a promotion, or probably even for keeping your job!

iebo

I am definitely not an apple polisher. I will not suck up to a boss. I'd rather tell them what I think, whether they like it or not. I feel its in the best interest of the company to be honest, instead of just being a yes-man.

I'm not an apple polisher, but I know someone who is. :(
She is such an apple polisher! She doesn't do anything but when our boss is around, she works like crazy. As if. :p Most of us don't like her because she's so obvious at what she does.

I am not. I "kiss up" to no one. I much prefer to keep my dignity. I'd rather not have work my way up that way.

Well let's face it - if you want to succeed in your job, simply being capable is not enough. Networking is extremely important as well and that also means building a good relationship with your boss.
While many of you are right to say that this way of "working upwards" isn't exactly ethical, it is absolutely necessary, at least I think so.

Yeah good point. Sometimes it is the only way. If I was a boss, I wouldn't like those kinds of people. I can't stand them.

moneymakingmom

Coaching Member
Well let's face it - if you want to succeed in your job, simply being capable is not enough. Networking is extremely important as well and that also means building a good relationship with your boss.